1 year Anniversary_Cowden Syndrome Diagnosis

Good Morning everyone and happy Friday. Today marks my 1 year anniversary for my positive genetic results for Cowden Syndrome. After my positive diagnoses, we started early detection for breast cancer because people with Cowden Syndrome have a higher risk than normal to develop breast cancer.  I believe it’s at 85% chance, I could be wrong on that number. During this time, I found a hard lump on my right breast and I honestly was not sure if it was cancer or not so my mom and I got it checked out. At first, they were telling me it was not breast cancer, it looks like a fibroadenoma. After having an MRI and the results not looking good, they first schedule two biopsies but I ended up having four in total. I ended up being diagnosed with DCIS, known as Ductal Carcinoma in situ in both of my breasts. This was not only a total shock to my family but also the doctor and staff. Even though they know about my high risk of cancer, they did not think I had cancer. After months of talking with other doctors, doing our own research and also traveling to Cleveland Clinic. I finally made my desition to have a double mastectomy on April 21, 2017. I just had my finally breast reconstruction on August 2, 2017.

That’s been my 1 year experiences with Cowden Syndrome. When I got that phone call from the genetic counselor told us the results. It was definitely very hard to hear the results but at the same time, we finally had answers to my entire health history. We always thought my early thyroid problems came from my mom side of the family but now we know it’s connected to Cowden Syndrome. Before I go, I do want to say that I’m not angry or sad anymore about my positive diagnosis of Cowden Syndrome. I truly believed it happened at the perfect time in my life and we were able to catch cancer before it can turn into an invasive form of breast cancer. I see Cowden Syndrome as a tool and using that tool will be hard but we need to use our strength to work with it and push through these hard times. That’s all that I have to say for today and I hope everyone has a great day and weekend.