1 Week Left_ Mastectomy Surgery

 

1 Week – that’s crazy to think around this time next week I will be out of surgery and recovering from having a nipple sparing mastectomy. I wanted to share my story with you all because there is a misunderstanding about breast cancer. Many people still believe that breast cancer (only older women get) well that’s true, as you get old your chances of getting breast cancer increases. In the past few years, there have been more and more young women getting the diagnoses of breast cancer or finding out they are at high risk of developing breast cancer. People, it does happen and I’m one of those young adult women that it happened to and that’s why I wanted to tell my story. I was very lucky that the breast cancer was caught very early and it was noninvasive (DCIS).

Having a nipple sparing mastectomy is one of the best choices because I have a rare medical condition known as Cowden syndrome. I have an 85% chance of developing invasive breast cancer but with having surgery that risk goes down to about 20%. I want, to be honest with you all, it took me a very long time to make this decision to have surgery. If you would like to know more, you can visit my Cleveland Clinic blog post. That’s all for me today – hope everyone has a great weekend and Happy Easter.

2 thoughts on “1 Week Left_ Mastectomy Surgery

  1. arnoldtd says:

    We are really a lot alike, so I’m not sure what to say. Right before anything major my husband tells me you will be fine. You did your research, know what you want and have a whole lot of information. So I think you will be fine. Prayers help too. Hope you have fun things planned this week. We are heading to the only comedy movie playing today. Take Care Tami

    Like

    • Kaitlyn's Life says:

      That what I was thinking when I was reading our about page. I was like wow – we have a lot in common. Thanks, yea I know I will be fine. I’m not nervous about surgery but I’m nervous about the realization that I will having a mastectomy at the age of 25. Also happy Easter to you as well. 🐰💜😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

